Building projects up for prestigious design award

Stowe Music School PNL-140610-143618001
Stowe Music School PNL-140610-143618001
Have your say

Three projects from this area have been shortlisted for a prestigious design award.

A total of seven outstanding projects have been shortlisted for this year’s Aylesbury Vale District Council (AVDC) Design Awards.

Sunny Hill Farmhouse, Padbury PNL-140610-143209001

Sunny Hill Farmhouse, Padbury PNL-140610-143209001

The judging panel – including district councillors, architects and experts in development and the built environment – chose the entries for their high quality, contemporary designs and contribution to the surrounding area.

The awards are run by AVDC on an annual basis and illustrate the council’s commitment to the promotion and celebration of high-quality design within the built environment.

The shortlisted projects include Stowe School’s new music school building, which has a tripartite form to reflect its historic setting and relationship with the surrounding landscape gardens.

The 16th/17th century Sunny Hill Farmhouse, in Padbury, has been carefully renovated, using period materials, with the addition of a contemporary rear extension to provide a village home.

Hastoe Housing Association scheme in Tingewick PNL-140610-143410001

Hastoe Housing Association scheme in Tingewick PNL-140610-143410001

Hastoe Housing Association schemes in Mursley, Marsh Gibbon and Tingewick have been shortlisted as three community projects on rural exception sites designed to reflect the village locality.

Cabinet member for planned sevelopment, design and conservation, Sue Polhill, said: “The Design Awards are a celebration of the great design and architecture in Aylesbury Vale.

We know how important high-quality, well-designed buildings are to the lives of residents and the wider community as the district continues to grow and change.

“It’s wonderful to see so many schemes that make a positive and inspirational addition to the built environment.”

The winning scheme will be announced at a ceremony on 26 November.

To find out more about the awards, visit