King’s Sutton clinch Division Three title

editorial image

King’s Sutton have been confirmed as Division Three champions after beating Gayton by five wickets at the weekend, their 14th win from 14 games this season.

Will Sandell took 5-13 to run through Gayton for a mere 94 – 51 of which came from Cameron Waldron – before Micky Summer (33 not out) guided Sutton to victory.

Elsewhere in the league, Silverstone are third with a 85-run triumph against Bodicote, while Syresham A were beaten by Woodford Halse A and Gawcott & Hillesden lost by two wickets at Sibford.

Syresham saw off Thornborough by 85 runs in a high-scoring Premier Division encounter. Batting first, Matthew Butler (65) made the biggest contribution in Syresham’s 304-5 before Nathan Archer (4-25) was the pick of the bowlers as Thornborough were bowled out for 219, with Aiden Birch finishing unbeaten on 61.

Byfield remain on course for the title after a 15th win of the season, this time beating Wroxton by five wickets. Evenley are fourth following a six-wicket win against Radway. Anthony Romaine was top scorer (30no) and top wicket-taker (5-22).

Marston Lawrence, meanwhile, are sixth courtesy of a seven-wicket win against Middleton Cheney.

In Division One, Afro Caribbean have displaced Greens Norton at the top of a tight table, and Charlton are up to second after winning their clash with Greens Norton by four runs. Charlton were bowled out for a below-par 125 batting first, but good bowling from Ahtaram Muhammed (5-18) and Ryan Knight (3-51) restricted Norton to 121.

Evenley A are still in the promotion hunt despite a dramatic two-run defeat to Bodicote. Having bowled the home side out for 147, Evenley looked set for victory as Dave Holden scored 76 but it wasn’t enough as the visitors came up just short.

At the wrong end of the table, Hinton-in-the-Hedges are now 24 points adrift at the bottom following just their second win of the season. Josh Withers (60) and Sean Gardiner (4-37) were key in their 93-run victory at Grange Park.

Croughton’s (132) Division Two promotion hopes suffered a blow when they were beaten by 43 runs at Braunston Paddox (175-9), while Marston St Lawrence A were thrashed by Hanslope (203-5).

In Division Four, Towcestrians have been crowned champions despite their first loss at Middleton Cheney A. Chasing 142 to win, Tows fell four runs short.

The Division Five title has also been secured after Flecknoe beat Silverstone A by four wickets. Phil Berry (41) top scored in the match and Hugh Williams took (4-24) but Flecknoe were victorious by four wickets. Meanwhile, Thornborough A (80) lost to Preston Bissett (173-5) and Brackley (202-9) beat Preston Capes A (38) by 164 runs.

Saturday, August 17, Premier Division fixtures: Castlethorpe v Wroxton, Thornborough v Evenley, Middleton Cheney v Warwick Uni Staff, Radway v Marston St Lawrence, Syresham v Byfield.

Division One: Byfield A v Charlton, Afro Caribbean v Bodicote, Evenley A v Grange Park, Hinton-in-the-Hedges v Greens Norton, Woodford Halse v Willoughby.

Division Two: Croughton v Hanslope, MK Air v Braunston Paddox, Marston St Lawrence A v Dunchurch & Bilton, Preston Bissett v Preston Capes.

Division Three: Bodicote A v Woodford Halse A, King’s Sutton v Sibford, Priors Marston v Silverstone, Gawcott & Hillesden v Syresham A.