District and European election candidates

Share this article

A list of candidates who are competing for district council seats have been released.

Local and European elections are to be held on May 22 with one-third of Cherwell District Council’s seats up for election, alongside some seats on parish councils.

At 4pm yesterday, Thursday, the deadline closed for district, town and parish council nominations.

A total of 17 of the council’s 50 seats had been up for the vote, but there will only be 16 district elections after Councillor Timothy Hallchurch retained his seat in the Otmoor ward having stood unopposed.

Returning officer Sue Smith said: “The deadline has closed for nominations and voters now have the chance to see who has put themselves forward to be their district councillor. Approximately one-third of Cherwell seats are up for election so the results could have a bearing on the future make-up of the authority.

Residents who want to vote need to make sure their details have been included on the electoral register before the May 6 deadline.

A total of 31 parish councils were also up for election but only four were contested, including Merton.

Nominees for Cherwell District Council seats in the Bicester Review region are:

Bicester West – Norman Bolster (Con), Darren Cain (UKIP), Polly Foster (Lab);

Fringford – Barbara Fairweather (UKIP), Steven Uttley (Lab), Barry Wood (Con);

Kirtlington – Sebastian Faireather (UKIP), Simon Holland (Con), Andrew Hornsby-Smith (Lab);

Astons and Heyfords – Dickie Bird (UKIP), John Innes (Lib Dem), James Macnamara (Con), Annette Murphy (Lab), Jenny Tamblyn (Green);

Voting in the European elections is open to all eligible UK and EU citizens and as such, all Cherwell residents who are eligible to vote should have received a poll card.

For more information on all election candidates visit www.cherwell.gov.uk/elections