GENERAL ELECTION 2015: Conservative Andrea Leadsom wins South Northamptonshire seat

Andrea Leadsom MP
Andrea Leadsom MP

Conservative candidate Andrea Leadsom was returned for a second term as MP for South Northamptonshire.

Mrs Leadsom took the seat with 36,607 votes, compared to her nearest rival Lucy Mills (Labour), with 10,191 votes.

The full results were as follows:

Damon Boughen (Green Party): 2,247

Roger Clark (UKIP): 8,204

Andrea Leadsom (Conservative): 36,607

Lucy Mills (Labour): 10,191

Tom Snowdon (Liberal Democrat): 3,613

The South Northants seat was created in 2010 and won by Andrea Leadsom for the Conservatives.

This time the seat is being contested by Damon Boughen Green Party, Roger Clark UKIP, Andrea Leadsom Conservative, Lucy Mills Labour, and Tom Snowdon Liberal Democrat.

The count will start after polls close at 10pm at Towcester Centre for Leisure.

The South Northamptonshire constituency includes most of the South Northamptonshire District Council area (Milton Malsor, Kislingbury, Gayton, Harpole, Rothersthorpe, Bugbrooke, Nether Heyford and Upper Heyford are all in the Daventry constituency) as well as East Hunsbury, Nene Valley and West Hunsbury in the Borough of Northampton.

In 2010 Andrea Leadsom took 55.2 per cent of the vote, 20,478 votes more than the second placed Lib Dem candidate who received 21 per cent of the vote. Third place went to Labour, followed by UKIP, the English Democrats and the Green Party.