How did your MP vote on the EU referendum?

No Caption ABCDE
No Caption ABCDE

PRIME Minister David Cameron saw off a bid to hold a referendum on EU membership on Tuesday this week.

Despite a major rebellion among Conservative back-benchers, the motion was comfortably defeated by 483 to 111.

Buckingham MP John Bercow was unable to take part as Speaker of the House, but Brackley and Towcester MP Andrea Leadsom voted for the referendum, while Bicester MP Tony Baldry voted against it.

Addressing the Prime Minister in a debate prior to the EU membership vote, Mr Baldry asked him to confirm the Conservative manifesto did not, “...contain a commitment to seek an in-out referendum or to seek to renegotiate our terms of membership of the European Union.”

Mr Cameron said although Conservatives had made a commitment to seek the return of some powers from the EU, it was not part of the manifesto to seek a referendum including an in-out option. But a total of 81 Conservatives went against the party line, and some abstained.

Following the vote, Mrs Leadsom said: “While I believe the Government are doing an excellent job in Europe, for example keeping us out of further bailouts of Greece and putting in place the EU referendum lock, nevertheless I decided I must support the motion for the sake of our democracy.

“For too long, voters have been denied the chance to have their say on ever-closer EU integration, and so, while it was a very difficult decision, I concluded that I had to support the principle of a referendum.

Despite her belief the motion contained a number of potential problems, Mrs Leadsom said she supported it as: “The Europe we have today bears little resemblance to the Europe we voted for in 1975 – it is high time the British public had another say.”