New honorary aldermen unveiled

Cllr David Polhill 110509M-A364 ENGPNL00120110905115950
Cllr David Polhill 110509M-A364 ENGPNL00120110905115950

Six new honorary aldermen have been appointed – including one from the Advertiser and Review region.

David Polhill, former Bucks County Councillor for Buckingham North, has received the honour as a reward for long service.

Mr Polhill, who was councillor between 2005 and 2013, was also chairman of the council’s development control committee from 2005 to 2013, vice-chairman of the council in 2009/2010 and chairman of the council in 2010/2011.

Also made honorary aldermen of the council were Bruce Allen, Marion Clayton, Michael Colston, Richard Pushman and Freda Roberts.

They took their seats at the 125th anniversary meeting of the county council yesterday, Thursday.

Lord Lieutenant Sir Henry Aubrey-Fletcher welcomed each individually with a framed certificate and an aldermanic badge.

They will each serve for two council terms as county council ambassadors, supporting the chairman and vice-chairman in civic duties.