South Northants Cricket League round-up

Syresham are up to third in the South Northants Premier Division after a 96-run win over Radway.

Tuesday, 21st May 2013, 1:32 pm

Darrell Collins hit 65 for Syresham as they reached 192 all out before bowling Radway out for 96, with Daniel Archer taking 3-25.

Byfield are currently top of the table having won their opening three matches – the latest a two-wicket win over Warwick University Staff, who are second.

At the other end of the table, Thornborough are bottom following a five-wicket loss to Castlethorpe, despite Joe Osbourn’s 50, and Evenley sit sixth after Jamie Martin (4-5) and Talib Ali (4-24) helped them to a 50-run victory against Marston St Lawrence.

In Division One, Byfield A top the table, ahead of Willoughby and Bodicote, with Charlton fourth after Brian Taylor’s unbeaten 53 and Ryan Knight’s 5-22 guided them to a 112-run win against Grange Park.

Just below Charlton are Evenley A, who beat Greens Norton by five wickets thanks to Dave Holden (54 not out) and Sam Holden (5-25).

Dunchurch and Bilton (148-4) lead the way in Division Two after a slender 13-run victory against Croughton (135 all out). MK Air are second with Hanslope third.

Division Three leaders Silverstone enjoyed their second win of the season courtesy of a fine spell from David Williams (5-40) as they beat Syresham A by 87 runs. They lead the table by one point from Gayton.

Towcestrians continued their immaculate form this season to hammer Wardington by 157 runs and stay top in Division Four. Rob Jones and James Kirk both struck half centuries while Kevin Hawkins took 3-9.

Finally, in Division Five, Flecknoe are top with three wins from three, Silverstone A are second with Evenley B fourth and Brackley fifth.

Saturday, May 25, Premier Division fixtures: Thornborough v Radway, Warwick v Evenley, Marston St Lawrence v Wroxton, Middleton Cheney v Byfield, Syresham v Castlethorpe.

Division One: Byfield A v Hinton-in-the-Hedges, Bodicote v Greens Norton, Northampton Grange Park v Willoughby, Evenley A v Charlton, Woodford Halse v Afro Caribbean.

Division Two: Braunston Paddox v Dunchurch & Bilton, Croughton v Preston Capes, Hanslope v Crown, Preston Bissett v Marston St Lawrence A.

Division Three: Priors v Syresham A, Sibford v Gayton, Silverstone v Kings Sutton, Gawcott & Hillesden v Bodicote A.

Division Four: Wardington v Maids Moreton, Dunchurch & Bilton A v Towcestrians A, Radway A v Middleton Cheney A, Willoughby A v Chipping Warden.

Division Five: Brackley B v Silverstone A, Evenley B v Flecknoe, Hinton-in-the-Hedges A v Thornborough A, Preston Capes A v Braunston Paddox A.