Hamilton storms to maiden Mercedes win

editorial image
Share this article

British driver Lewis Hamilton recorded his first victory for the Brackley-based Mercedes team at the weekend, when he led the Hungarian Grand Prix from start to finish.

Hamilton arrived in Hungary expecting little, with his Mercedes car predicted to struggle on the Hungarian track, but he suffered few problems in qualifying to set the fastest time and line-up on pole for Sunday’s race.

When the lights flashed out to signal the start of the race, Hamilton took the advantage, and despite surrendering the lead during the mandatory rounds of pit stops, the former world champion never looked like being beaten.

It was the first time since 1955 that a British driver has won a Grand Prix race for the Mercedes team.

After calmly driving to the chequered flag, Hamilton said: “This has to be one of my best Grand Prix victories.

“To win for Mercedes Benz is an amazing feeling and I am following in the tradition of great British drivers Stirling Moss and Richard Seaman.”

Hamilton’s team-mate, Nico Rosberg, added: “Lewis drove really well today. I know what it is like to win a Grand Prix for Mercedes Benz.

“I have been fortunate to do this three times so far. Lewis is a great racer and he fully deserves this win. We both look forward to scoring more victories this season.”

The race proved a very different one for Rosberg, who retired with an engine failure, while the part Bicester-based Toro Rosso team saw their drivers Jean-Eric Vergne and Daniel Ricciardo finish 12th and 13th respectively.

Hamilton is still fourth in the overall standings, 48 points adrift of Championship leader Sebastian Vettel, but remains confident he can close the gap.

He added: “We are halfway through the 2013 campaign and many points are still on offer. This season is far from over and I still believe anything and everything is possible.”

The FIA F1 World Championship now enters its summer break, with the next round taking place at the end of August at Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium.