Malvern claims prestigious title at Silverstone

Scott Malvern leads the field at the start of the Walter Hayes Trophy Grand Final
Scott Malvern leads the field at the start of the Walter Hayes Trophy Grand Final

Former British Formula Ford champion, Scott Malvern, won the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone in fine style on his debut in the end-of-season spectacular, writes James Beckett.

The multiple Autosport Award winner won his heat, semi final and the grand final in a Kevin Mills Racing Spectrum to add his his name to the coveted roll of honour.

Malvern’s performance in the final saw him lead home the challenge of Oliver White (Van Diemen) and Kevin O’Hara (Van Diemen).

Malvern, who was making his debut in the Silverstone event, said afterwards: “My aim was to win the Walter Hayes Trophy and I am really pleased that I have been able to achieve this.

“It was not easy and at the restart of the grand final I just got my head down and worked hard to keep clear of the chasing pack. It has been a great weekend for me and I am amazed by the event’s popularity. It really has a fantastic atmosphere and all things being equal I hope I can be back next year to defend my crown.”

Thirty-six racers took part in the grand final, with 120 competitors starting the event on Saturday morning.

Qualifying heats took place on Saturday before the competition moved into its knockout phase on Sunday morning and the large Silverstone crowd were treated to some spectacular racing.

Joey Foster, winner of the Walter Hayes Trophy in 2003, ‘04 and ‘05, finished fourth. He said: “This was a great weekend of racing.

“This event is so popular and I would really like to see more spectators make the trip to Silverstone to watch it. This is pure racing and I am really pleased to be associated with the event.”

Silverstone’s Michael Moyers retired from the final after his Kevin Mills Racing Spectrum suffered damage in a collision, while Michael Vergers in his Sheshon Racing Van Diemen RF78 finished fifth in The Bernard Baxter Race. Dan Fox, driving a Team Fox Racing with Sheshon Racing PRS 81F, finished ninth in the same race.