Buckingham golfers breeze into third round

editorial image
Share this article

BUCKINGHAM Golf Club’s men eased their way into the third round of the Hillman Plate after comfortably beating Newbury Racecourse Golf Club 5.5-1.5.

The team, consisting of Neil Caldwell, Nigel Franklin, Lee Thorne, Derek Purves, Ricky Price, Dave Howell and Roy Marsden, coped well in the windy conditions to set up an away match against either Farnham Park or Thorney Park.

The wet rough made things difficult for members in the midweek stableford with Jeremy Haigh winning on a score of 71, one ahead of Neil Caldwell and Dave Barnes.

In the Victory Cup Bogey Competition – where golfers compete in a match-play format against the course – Paddy McCrossan took the honours with a 1-up result while Paul Skinner took second and Dave Drewe third.

Elsewhere, Ben Gregory won Neil Tanner’s President’s Day on Sunday with a score of 39 points.

Jayne Collins topped the ladies competition on 35 points and Mike Lightfoot (37 points) took the men’s Division One prize.

The Division Two and Three prizes went to Steve Howard (38) and youngster Oliver Clarke (38) respectively.

Finally, in the ladies medal, Diane Hofman hit a net 70 to win Division One while Jayne Collins (72) came second and Bernie Howe (75) third.