Chandos crowned cup winners to complete double

editorial image
Share this article

Chandos Park Bowls Club have completed the league and cup double after seeing off Olney in the cup final.

On Sunday, Park’s bowlers and supporters travel to Bletchley St Martins for the Bletchley and District Trophy final.

The trophy has previously been won by Olney on five occasions while Chandos have won it seven times since its inception in 1994.

And the club from Buckingham made it an eighth win after a well-contested final saw them run out worthy 87-69 winners.

The victory means Chandos have now done the league and cup double for the past five years in a row.

Scores from the final were:

Ron Williams, David West, Don Savage 10 Olney 19

Bob Reynolds, Dai Edwards, John McAndrew 26 Olney 8

Kevin Dawson, Neil Holman, John Finch 15 Olney 14

Jamie Seymour, Clive Graves, Paul Seymour 26 Olney 7

Les Lester, Mike Edwards, David Gibbard 10 Olney 21

There was just one mid-week fixture for Chandos Park ladies, who lost by three shots to Newport Pagnell.

It was back to league games for the men as in Division One the Chokers had a comfortable 26-8 shot win over Bletchley Town.

There was also a good win for the Bouncers in Division Two as they beat Stony Stratford but it was the same story for the Arabians in Division Three, who lost 17-12 to Bletchley Town Knights.

Saturday saw a very successful President’s Day played in ideal conditions at the club.

President John Liecester-Finch’s team ran out worthy winners over Captain Chris Lawrence’s side with a combined score of 100-81.

Individual scores (Captain’s team first):

June Lawrence, Joe Horton, Chris Lawrence 11 Richard Green, John McAndrew, John Finch 22

Jan Holman, Neil Holman, David Gibbard 13 Jean Smart, Barry Smart, Ray Smart 18

Bob Reynolds, Ann Thorne, Don Savage 14 John Lonegan, Ray Philips, Dai Edwards 16

Jamie Seymour, Jean Thompson, David West 19 Doreen Crabb, Bill Hutchinson, Tony Hollis 11

Ron Williams, Jean Nicholls, Clive Graves 9 S Edwards, Mike Edwards, Kevin Dawson 24

Mike Etherington, Les Lester, Diane Form 15 Charlie Warr, John White, Freddie Austin 9