Davis equals course record in cup victory

editorial image

MIKE Lightfoot hosted Buckingham Golf Club’s Presidents Day with more than 150 golfers enjoying not only a very fine summer’s day but also the course in tip top condition.

Two young potential stars won the Presidents Cup as Will Davis shot a magnificent 65 equalling the course record and totalling a staggering 47 Stableford points. Not bad for a junior !

It took another junior to win Division 1 with young Ben Oliver pushing Nigel Franklin into second place on countback with 40 points. Dave Hayes was third with 39 points.

Division 2 was won by Gary Freeman on 42 points narrowly beating Rick Kent into second place on countback with third place going to Eddie Caufield on 40 points.

Division 3 saw Peter Davidson beating Peter Blyth on count back with 37 points, while Peter Brown came third with 36 points.

One of the most popular results of the day came in the ladies section when Ladies captain Margot Sharp came in first with a fine 38 points, with Karen Robinson narrowly beating Kerry Sumner on countback with both ladies scoring 35 points.

Buckingham Golf Club Championship took place over two days. It turned out to be a game of two halves as the Saturday weather was rather poor while on Sunday nearly 90 competitors were treated to one of the hottest days of the year with temperatures in excess of 30 degrees being recorded.

The club champion eventually turned out to be Mark Rimell, who had to go to a sudden death play-off with Robin Long after both players grossed fine 143’s after the two days.

It took a hard-fought six holes for Rimell to become a very worthy champion. Ben Robinson was third on 149.

The men’s nett champion was Wilf Hearne with a nett 137 followed by Jack Goodger on 139 and Geoff Rob on 140.

In the ladies competition young Kerry Sumner on 163 pushed Christina Hancock on 165 into second place to become a very worthy winner.

The Ladies nett competition was won by Janine Stirrat with a nett 143 with Gina Lloyd in second place with a nett 154.

The nine hole Plate competition was won by Dave Howell on 19 points.