Double honour for second row star Tim Phipps

Paper front page for the web.
Paper front page for the web.
Share this article

rugby: Second row Timothy Phipps secured a prestigious double as he was named Players’ Player and Club Player of the Year at Bicester Rugby Club’s end of season dinner dance event.

Dan Horwood picked up the Captain’s Player of the Year award, while 1st XV captain Dan Spencer also handed out awards to Lisa Horwood, Karen Smith, Paul Chrisp, Wendy Spencer and Tom Abernthy.

The 2nd team Players’ Player of the Year was named as Joshua Bramlay, while Aidan James took the plaudits as Captain’s Player.

Sam Corcoran was named as the most improved player in the second and third teams.

Awards were also given out to the stars of the colts sides with Chris Clayton and Dave Beer sharing the award for Colts XV Player of the Year.

The Press Officer Awards went to Dan Spencer and Tom Horwood, while the Bicester 1st team manager award was presented to club senior coach Alec Smith by Peter Bramley.

The club’s annual general meeting will take place on Wednesday, May 25 at 7.30pm.