Lazen surges to time-trial success

editorial image

Seventeen riders took part in latest cycling time-trial organised by the A5 Rangers Cycling Club.

The ten-mile event, held on the Finmere course, was won by Dave Lazenby riding for Baines Racing. His time of 22.55 minutes was over a minute faster than runner up Andy Burnett, riding for Bicester Millennium Cycling Club.

Fastest A5 Rangers was Ian Mead with a time of 24.39.

Times were as follows: Dave Lazenby 22.55, Andy Burnett 24.23, Ian Mead 24.39, Joseph Wood 24.48, Pete Trotman 25.08, Luke Prior 25.32, Paul Clarke 26.31, Derek Moyle 26.39, Murray Kirton 26.43, Harry Warner 27.47, Trevor Parrish 27.50, Nick Lawther 28.11, Gary Guntrip 28.18, Dave Stockley 30.09, Keith Gelder 30.42, Kyle Kirton 30.44, Ricki Goode 30.46.

In the re-run Mike Lunn Memorial Open 10-mile time-trial, Joseph Wood recorded the best improvement and was awarded the Memorial Trophy. Mike was a very popular member of the A5 Rangers Cycling Club who, in 1991, was tragically killed while riding home from work.

The club’s 50 mile Trophy was won by Ian Mead while competing in the Norlond Time Trial Combine event at Biggleswade. His time was 2.06.24 hours. Other members taking part were Muray Kirton with 2.20.07 and Pete Akoslovski in 2.27.58.