Silson Joggers stage Silverstone 10k

editorial image

The 30th running of the Silverstone Grand Prix 10k launched the East Midlands Grand Prix Series in style.

The annual race is organised by Silson Joggers AC and is one of the largest midweek 10k races, attracting over 1,000 runners.

The runners were greeted by rain as they gathered on the start line on the circuit with the wheelchair race setting off at 7.25pm while the footrace began at 7.30pm with both comprising two laps of the former Grand Prix Circuit, now known as the Bridge Circuit.

The wheelchair race was won by Martin Limmer in a time of 31.48 followed by Rob Smith of Coventry Godiva Harriers in 35.41 and Ronnie Harris in 37.41. The footrace was close at the half way point with five runners clear but the second lap saw Toby Spencer pull away to win in a time of 31.55 followed by Phil Holland (Ampthill & Flitwick Flyers) in 32.13 and Gordon Lee (Leicester Coritanian) in 32.41.

The ladies race was won by Eleanor Fowler (Nuneaton Harriers) in 37.37 with Jane Ovington (Marshall Milton Keynes) second in 38.10 and Imogen Norton (Wootton Road Runners) third in 38.28.

Full results can be found on the 10k page at