Stefanovic victorious on finals night

editorial image
Share this article

PAUL Stefanovic was victorious in the overall Divisional Singles knock-out competition at the Buckingham & Winslow Darts League finals night held at Brackley Football Club.

He won the Division One final 2-0 over Darren Tompkins to set up a semi-final with Division Four winner Martin Medland while Clive Allen, Division Three winner, played the victor in Division Two, Josh Rush, in the other semi-final.

Stefanovic and Rush met in the final following their semi-final triumphs with the former claiming a 2-1 victory.

Also played on the night was the Trevor Stanton Challenge Shield, which was won by Three Cups A following a 5-1 win over Brackley FC in the final.

In the Alwyn Knibbs Singles, Simon Orme and Mick Robinson were victorious after beating Darren Tompkins and Darren Porter 3-2 while Paul Stefanovic claimed his second victory of the night in the Nick Hoddy Singles.

The final event that took place on finals night was the Memorial Shield knock-out final, which was won by the trio of Jason Knibbs, Chris Freshwater and Gina Freshwater from Swan A as they beat Mick Robinson, Simon Orme and Eddie Smith 2-1.

Meanwhile, Three Cups A received their award for Division One winners while Two Brewers B (Division Two), Two Brewers A (Division Three) and Crown Twyford (Division Four) also picked up their respective trophies.

Whale A also took home the award after their win in the Trevor Stanton knock-out competition.

Highest checkout prizes went to Dave White (Division One, 160), Andy Arnold (Division Two, 152), Chris Horsler (Division Three, 144) and Gary Lee (Division Four, 111).

Finally, Stefanovic picked up another award after he, along with Chris Carr and Frank Morrison, won the Triples knock-out while Jason Knibbs and Darren Tompkins won the Doubles knock-out.

Now the winter league has been completed, the summer league will start and last for 12 weeks.