Twyford crowned champions

editorial image

CROWN Twyford are confirmed winners of Division Four in the Buckingham and Winslow Darts League despite losing their final match 6-3 at Division Three champions Two Brewers A.

Having finished on 189 points, Two Brewers A won Division Three by seven points from runners-up Crown Gawcott.

Despite still having one match to play, George Winslow have secured second place in Division Four.

There are now just three further postponed matches left to play.

Further to the league, there were also several events played at Buckingham Cricket Club.

Firstly, Whale A won the Trevor Stanton Plate knock-out having beaten Swan B 5-2 in the semi-final before defeating Two Brewers B 5-3 in the final.

Also played were the Charity Pairs and Charity Triples knock-out competitions.

In the semi-finals of the Charity Pairs, John Barnett and Colin Wright (Three Cups A) won 2-0 over Tim Thornton and Dave White (Three Cups A) to set up a meeting with Darren Tompkins and Jason Knibbs (Swan A), who beat Simon Orme and Lee Peters (Peacock) 2-1.

Tompkins and Knibbs then went on to win the final 2-0 in the Charity Pairs.

As for the Triple knock-out, Paul Stefanovic, Chris Carr and Frank Morrison (Three Cups A) were triumphant after edging a tight final 2-1 against Peacock trio Simon Orme, Eddie Smith and Mich Robinson.

The finals night will be held on Thursday, July 5, at Brackley Football Club with the summer league starting on Thursday, July 19.

This will include 18 teams that will be split into three divisions of six teams.