Narrow defeat leaves Syresham third

editorial image

An agonising one-wicket defeat to Marston St Lawrence saw Syresham slip to third in the SNCL Premier Division.

Nathan Archer top-scored for Syresham as they made 162-9, but Ross Atkin (39) helped Marston edge to victory by the narrowest of margins, despite Archer completing a fine all-round display with 3-41.

Byfield remain top by six points from Middleton Cheney, who in turn are six clear of Syresham, with Evenley (19) two points further back in fourth after an eight-wicket win over Warwick University Staff (192).

Greens Norton’s lead at the top of Division One has been cut to just three points as they were beaten by 43 runs at home to Woodford Halse, while Radway eased to a comfortable nine-wicket win over Evenley A. Further down, MK Air beat Thornborough and Croughton (50-0) thrashed Byfield A (49) after Greg Morgan took 4-15.

In Division Two, Priors remain well clear thanks to another dominant victory, this time over Gayton, while Grange Park (140-6) leapfrogged Hinton-in-the-Hedges into second with a victory over Kings Sutton (139).

Bodicote A only just kept their four-point lead intact at the top of Division Three as they sneaked to a one-wicket win over Syresham A. In second are Silverstone after Andrew Key (50no and 4-18) and Hugh Williams (4-15) helped them to a five-wicket win against Sibford.

Roger Wilson hit 87 and Eliot Parish took 5-3 for Towcestrians (173) as they beat Crown (72).

In Division Four, Brackley beat Braunston Paddox after the latter failed to raise a side and Thornborough (186-9) beat Dunchurch & Bilton (151).

Saturday, July 19, Premier Division fixtures: Evenley v Wroxton, Middleton Cheney v Castlethorpe, Warwick Uni Staff v Byfield, Charlton v Marston St Lawrence, Syresham v Afro Caribbean.

Division One: Byfield A v Greens Norton, Willoughby v Radway, Croughton v Evenley A,Thornborough v Woodford.

Division Two: Grange Park v Gayton, Marston St Lawrence A v Hinton-in-the-Hedges, Priors v Preston Capes, Dunchurch & Bilton v Braunston Paddox.

Division Three: Sibford v Syresham A, Gawcott v Crown, Silverstone v Towcestrians, Helmdon v Bodicote A. Division Four: Radway A v Thornborough A, Evenley B v Wardington, Brackley v Maids Moreton.