Silverstone to host F3 Championship races

editorial image
Share this article

THE 2013 Cooper Tires British Formula 3 International Series will be contested over 26 races at nine top-level events across the UK and mainland Europe, it was confirmed on Tuesday.

The championship will visit the Grand Prix circuits at Silverstone, Spa and the Nürburgring, and once again take part in Europe’s blue-ribbon F3 event, the Grand Prix de Pau.

Announcing the more compact set of dates, Benjamin Franassovicci, championship manager for SRO, said: “The dates have been carefully chosen to avoid clashes with other F3 events and to provide competitors with the opportunity to compete on a superlative set of international-standard circuits such as Spa, Paul Ricard, and Nürburgring.

“It is a world-class calendar with overseas races supporting the fantastic Blancpain Endurance Series and several of the events will be televised live.”

“We are particularly pleased to be returning to the Grand Prix de Pau, the most prestigious Formula 3 race in Europe.”

Currently the championship will feature nine meetings, eight of which will feature three races – the exception being the twin-race Pau event. The series will visit Silverstone in May for rounds six, seven and eight.

In a revision to the format seen in recent seasons, all three races in an F3 weekend will be of 30-minute duration and the National class for older chassis, aimed at the younger and less experienced driver, will feature major revisions to broaden its appeal.

Brackley-based T-Sport won the National class in 2012 with Australian racer, Spike Goddard, and are expected to defend their crown next season.

It is also anticipated that the local team will also field a car in the main Championship class.

Provisional dates: 30 March/1 April – Oulton Park; 18/19 May – Grand Prix de Pau; 25/26 May – Silverstone Grand Prix; 15/16 Jun – Snetterton 300; 29/30 June – Paul Ricard;25/27 July – Spa-Francorchamps; 10/11 August – Brands Hatch Grand Prix; 21/22 September – Nürburgring; 05/06 October – Donington Park Grand Prix. JB