South Northants Cricket League round-up

Dave Mitson
Dave Mitson
Share this article

Byfield are running away with the South Northants Cricket League Premier Division title after an eighth straight win at the weekend.

Up against Evenley, Byfield bowled first and restricted the home side to 163 all out – Steve Harris’ 62 the highlight for Evenley – before chasing down the target for the loss of three wickets.

Syresham took advantage of Evenley’s slip up to extend their lead in third place as they beat Wroxton by six wickets after four wickets apiece for Nic Parry and Dave Mitson, who also scored an unbeaten 38.

Thornborough remain bottom of the table after losing their seventh match of the season by 15 runs at Marston St Lawrence.

In Division One, Evenley took full advantage of Byfield’s first defeat of the season to close the gap at the top to 18 points. Evenley beat Hinton-in-the-Hedges by 88 runs with Sam Holden (4-8) and Harry Williams (69) impressing.

Elsewhere, Ahtaram Muhammed (84) and Ryan Knight (80) helped fourth-place Charlton to a high-scoring victory over Willoughby and Matt Yuill produced an outstanding display as he first scored a stunning 139 before taking 4-49 in Greens Norton’s 88-run victory over leaders Byfield A.

Just two matches took place in Division Two, with Hanslope and MK Air playing out a thrilling tie, while Croughton slipped to a five-wicket loss at Marston St Lawrence after Michael Froom took 6-42.

Division Three leaders Kings Sutton demolished the Syresham batting line-up for just 43 to earn a seventh consecutive win.

Gayton moved up to second with a 32-run win over Silverstone after Cameron Waldron struck 59 and Toby Drayton took 3-59.

Towcestrians are another team in rampant form as they motored to their eighth win of the season – this time thrashing Radway A by 121 runs. Elliot Parish top scored with 95 and James Kirk took 3-8.

Tows’ lead at the top is 52 from Wardington, who beat Helmdon despite being bowled out for just 97.

In Division Five, leaders Flecknoe slumped to their first loss of the season at Preston Bissett but they remain top, while Thornborough are up to sixth after they beat Preston Capes in a low-scoring affair that saw Henry Larkin and Euan Davies both take three wickets.

Finally, fifth-placed Hinton-in-the-Hedges A defeated Brackley by 22 runs following Steve Connor’s 5-44.

Saturday, June 29, Premier Division fixtures: Byfield v Castlethorpe, Thornborough v Wroxton, Evenley v Syresham, Marston St Lawrence v Warwick University Staff, Radway v Middleton Cheney.

Division One: Charlton v Hinton-in-the-Hedges, Afro Caribbean v Evenley A, Bodicote v Grange Park, Willoughby v Byfield A, Woodford Halse v Greens Norton.

Division Two: Braunston Paddox v Hanslope, Crown v Preston Bissett, MK Air v Croughton, Preston Capes v Marston St Lawrence A.

Division Three: Kings Sutton v Gawcott & Hillesden, Sibford v Woodford Halse A, Gayton v Priors Marston, Syresham A v Bodicote A.

Division Four: Towcestrians v Willoughby, Dunchurch & Bilton A v Helmdon, Chipping Warden v Maids Moreton, Radway A v Middleton Cheney A.

Division Five: Crown v Preston Bissett, Hinton-in-the-Hedges A v Evenley B, Brackley v Thornborough A.