Twyford crowned champions

editorial image

TWYFORD Cricket Club have secured the Cherwell Division Two title and with it promotion to Division One for the first time in the club’s history after a comfortable 89-run at Wolverton Town.

Having been put into bat, openers Stafford Sansome (29) and Bilal Afzal (52) opened up with 81 in a fluent first-wicket partnership.

Zawar Hussain’s run-a-ball 84 and captain Tanveer Nadeem’s 44 continued the good work and took the game away from the hosts.

Late wickets meant that Twyford were all out off the last ball of the innings with Zahoor Ur-Rehman (5-78) the pick of the bowlers.

But the damage had been done and a total of 258 always looked like a daunting one.

And so it proved as Wolverton soon found themselves in trouble at 42-3.

But some attacking batting from Sean Potter (54) and Aky Hussain (45) kept the hosts interested as they added 94 for the fourth wicket.

But with the run rate difficult to maintain throughout, wickets tumbled once Twyford made the breakthrough and spinners Andrew Cook (4-31) and Bilal Afzal (3-58) did the damage, reducing the hosts to 169 all out.

It marks an incredible achievement for the club who have now secured back-to-back promotions having only joined the league in 2008 from the OCA.