Wigg clinches first major win of 2014

editorial image

Winslow’s Alexz Wigg claimed victory in last Sunday’s Bemrose Trial near Buxton in North Derbyshire.

The Gas Gas rider dropped just four marks throughout the day to finish on top of the standings, two clear of fellow Gas Gas rider, Sam Haslam. Ross Danby, riding a Jotagas machine, completed the podium a further six marks back.

Wigg’s win came a week after his participation in the Colmore Cup, when he was unable to challenge for overall victory due to a late start number and worsening conditions on the ACU S3 Parts Championship event. However, a strong seeding and a good route on the Bemrose Trial allowed Wigg to flourish and ride well to score his first major victory of the 2014 season.

Meanwhile, the Oxford Ixion Motorcycle Club hosted the third round of their 2014 club championship near Bicester on Sunday.

The Harold Avery Cup, a trophy first contested in 1949, was won by Thomas Plant riding a Beta 200. Chris Wickham took second with Oliver Humphries third - both riding Italian Beta machines.

Sam Rolls and Victoria Payne battled it out in the youth section, with Rolls snatching victory in the category near the end from Payne by just seven marks.

Robert Faulkner (Scorpa) and Bradley Taylor (Ossa) were class winners and the Oxford Ixion Motorcycle Club season continues with The Twinshock Trial on Good Friday.